Sunday Morning in downtown Wilton Manors

1) Tomatoes and bananas are indeed just as inexpensive at outdoor markets sometimes as they are at Publix and Publix never signed on to make sure tomato workers were safe in South Florida.  Damn straight.  

2) There are no Asian restaurants open before about 2pm on Sundays down here.  Surely this would be different if we were in the more urban northeast, or definitely on the West Coast.  But for as diverse as South Florida is, we are not the most idyllic place to be Asian, or to have a taste for Asian foods (like my husband who lived for a year in Vietnam).  We went to a free Digital Underground show last night, with a number of Miami food trucks in attendance.  That was pretty awesome, except for my husband’s inability to get the lo mein he so desired.

I guess we have to go to Orlando, where you can get GLORIOUS Asian food near Mills & 50, and lots of different types.  Including the vegan-alicious Loving Hut (which also has its own traveling truck, and has for years).  I really hope that development in Orlando never gets rid of those glorious places.

3) I think I had a priest compliment me today.  We were walking to get some type of food, Asian or not, and a guy in some sort of religious gear said to me either “nice glasses” or “nice breasts”.  I know that the fact that he was apparently a man of some kind of cloth doesn’t exempt him from being a perv, even on a Sunday (have you ever worked food service in a God-fearing town on Sundays?  BONKERS).  What made me relatively sure that he was complimenting my glasses was that we were in front of Java Boys, the most rainbow decked coffee shop I’ve ever witnessed.  

As I’ve mentioned before, I could walk outside in my neighborhood stark naked and not be harassed.  And I think unless you wear black leather and spikes to the club Ramrod, harassment in Wilton Manors proper is on the low side. 

 

So was our Sunday morning jaunt about town.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sunday Morning in downtown Wilton Manors

  1. Refugia Roff

    Most asian foods are tasty specially those fermented foods. ..

    <a href="My personal internet page
    http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/tips-when-using-nipple-shield/

  2. Herma Meltzer

    Western cuisines tend to use ‘pairs’ that share many flavours,’ say the researchers in a paper published in Nature. ‘But east Asian cuisines tend to avoid ingredients that share them. This investigation opens new avenues towards understanding culinary practices.’*

    The latest piece of writing produced by our own web site
    <,http://www.caramoantourpackage.com

Leave a Reply

